‘The Roaring Silence’ – win a copy


A compendium of interviews, essays, poetry, art and prose about suicide.

In Aotearoa New Zealand, suicide takes more lives than the road toll each year. Yet for many years suicide has been shrouded in secrecy, both in our daily lives and in the media.

The 79 contributors to The Roaring Silence – a potent mix of artists, writers, poets, musicians and professionals – help to break this silence by courageously sharing their reality that life is both dark and bright and that none of us is immune from times of shadow.

As editor Amelia Harris remarks in her introduction; “In putting this together I’ve realised how much everyone is affected by suicide. Even normal everyday people like my parents have been affected by suicide at some stage in their lives.”

The Roaring Silence is essential reading. In its diversity and creativity, it is enlightening and empowering, challenging and reassuring and a great read.


Project Mentor and Editor:  Linda Blincko

Co-editors & Designers: Amelia Harris and Julia West

Contributors to The Roaring Silence

Aaron Kevin Croawell, Alexander Wright, Alice Tumblescribbleson, Allan McEvoy, Amethyst Caverhill, Anita Mary, Antoinette Ratcliffe, Ashton Brown, Bernie Harfleet and Donna Turtle Sarten, Beth Ducklingmonster, Caitlin Smith, Chris McBride, Colleen Henry, Dallas Gopi, Darly Royan Paraha, David Merritt, Deborah Alma, Elaine De Guzman, Elisabeth Horsfall, Elizabeth Kirkby-McLeod, Emma Bryson, Erica Smith, Finola Scott, Fraser Williamson, Gilbert Lawrence, Grace Shelley-Poschl, Grant Alexander, Heidi North-Bailey, Hugh Wilson, Imogen Rogers, Irina May, James F Easteal, Jamie McEwan, Jenny Laycock, Jodie Ancliff, Jude Galang, Judge Neil MacLean, Julia West, Jutta Humpfer, Karin Hofko, Karen Belk, Kay McGregor, Kiri Piahana-Wong, Kirin Cerise, Kristina Cavit, Lauri Lee In-Jung Shore, LIFELINE, Lily, Linda Jarrett, Linda Stevenson, Lyndsay Brock, Lynn Lawton, Manu Fotu, Marina Grey, Markus Hofko, Matthew Crookes, Matthew George Richard Ward, Mavis Gulliver, Melissa Fergusson, Miriam Barr, Mohamed Hassan, Nancy Brier, Natasha Lay, Nigel Brown, Paul Chapman, Qalina, Rangituhia Hollis, Richard von Sturmer, Robyn Gibson, Robyn Pickens, Rod Emmerson, Rosie Whinray, Rozana Lee, Sam Orchard, Shaq Leota, Simon Esling, Sticks and Stones, Tanya Ruka, To’asavilli Tuputala, Vanessa Crofskey.

Depot Press has set up a tumblr site to keep the conversation going.   


It contains work that couldn’t be included in the book, links, and an ongoing dialogue.

Published by The Depot Press 27th March | RRP $30.00


To celebrate the release of this book we have a copy to giveaway to one lucky GrownUps member.

To enter simply answer the following question in the comments section below:
How many people contributed their work for to create the book.

The winner will be drawn Monday 3rd April and notified via email.

T&C’s apply