Hachette ‘Recommended for Reading Groups’ – win copies for your book club!

9781472241719

screen-shot-2017-06-26-at-10-31-54-pmWant to win copies of the August Hachette Reading Group recommended titles for your book club?

This month the knowledgeable, book-crazy team at Hachette have recommend some of the latest books they’ve discovered that are suitable for reading groups. The best part is that you can enter the competition to win copies for your reading group, plus a delicious cheese platter to share when you all gather to discuss the book!

To enter, simply read about the recommended books and fill in the entry form below.

Here are Hachette’s recommended Reading Group titles for you in August…

9781472241719Gather The Daughters by Jennie Melamed
On a small isolated island, there’s a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood. But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. They are free. It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

Gather The Daughters is a very powerful read: creepy, unsettling and can’t-tear-your-eyes-away gripping. But despite its darkness, it’s very moving too. This book is all about the girls: the story is told in their voices and you take every step of their journeys with them. The author is a psychiatric nurse practitioner who specialises in working with traumatised children, and her expertise in this area lends the novel real authenticity. Gather The Daughters will appeal to fans of Emma Kline’s The Girls and Emily St Mandel’s Station 11, with a little bit of The Handmaid’s Tale thrown i

If you can’t wait to read Gather The Daughters, you can purchase it from Whitcoulls, Mighty Ape and where all good books are sold.

9780733636561The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club by Sophie Green
Books bring them together – but friendship will transform all of their lives. Five very different women come together in the Northern Territory of the 1970s by an exceptional new Australian author.

In 1978 the Northern Territory has begun to self-govern. Cyclone Tracy is a recent memory and telephones not yet a fixture on the cattle stations dominating the rugged outback. Life is hard and people are isolated. But they find ways to connect. Sybil is the matriarch of Fairvale Station, run by her husband, Joe. Their eldest son, Lachlan, was Joe’s designated successor but he has left the Territory – for good. It is up to their second son, Ben, to take his brother’s place. But that doesn’t stop Sybil grieving the absence of her child. With her oldest friend, Rita, now living in Alice Springs and working for the Royal Flying Doctor Service, and Ben’s English wife, Kate, finding it difficult to adjust to life at Fairvale, Sybil comes up with a way to give them all companionship and purpose: they all love to read, and she forms a book club. Mother-of-three Sallyanne is invited to join them. Sallyanne dreams of a life far removed from the dusty town of Katherine where she lives with her difficult husband, Mick. Completing the group is Della, who left Texas for Australia looking for adventure and work on the land.

If you loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul and The Thorn Birds you will devour this story of five different women united by one need: to overcome the vast distances of Australia’s Top End with friendship, tears, laughter, books and love.

 The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club can be purchased from Whitcoulls, Mighty Ape and where all good books are sold.

Tin Man PPC UK final.inddTin Man by Sarah Winman
It begins with a painting won in a raffle: fifteen sunflowers, hung on the wall by a woman who believes that men and boys are capable of beautiful things. And then there are two boys, Ellis and Michael, who are inseparable. And the boys become men, and then Annie walks into their lives, and it changes nothing and everything.

Tin Man sees Sarah Winman follow the acclaimed success of When God Was A Rabbit and A Year Of Marvellous Ways with a love letter to human kindness and friendship, loss and living. Both of Sarah’s previous novels were Sunday Times Top Ten bestsellers. As well as appealing to the many existing Sarah Winman fans, Tin Man will also be for those who love the spare but powerful storytelling of Colm Toibin and Tim Winton. It will be one of the most talked about and best loved novels of its year.

If you can’t wait to read Tin Man, you can purchase it from Whitcoulls, Mighty Ape and where all good books are sold.

To be in to win copies of one of Hachette’s August Reading Group recommendations, just enter your details below along with your preferred book title.

All entries must be received by 31st August 2017. Winner will be drawn on 1st September 2017 and notified by email. There will be 1 x prize pack containing a maximum of 10 x copies of the chosen title plus a $60 Sabato Cheese Selection Platter sent to the winner.

The winning reading group needs to send GrownUps a review of their chosen book (can be a group review or a little contribution from each person), plus a photo of their gathering …preferably with the book, wine and cheese in hand! You will then have your reviews and photo published on GrownUps for others to see.

Happy reading!

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Postal Address (required)

Phone (required)

How many people are in your reading group? (required)

How long have you been a group and how did you get together? (required)

Which book would you like your reading group to win? (required)

Click here to join the GrownUps ‘Reading Groups’ discussion thread (feel free to ask questions), get your group together and watch this space. Happy reading!

T&C’s apply