June book competition

I will be complete

We have four fantastic titles to choose from this month. To be in to win a copy of one of our book titles of the month simply click on the links below and enter your details along with your preferred title.

Winners will be drawn at the end of the month.

I will be completeI will be complete – Glen David Gold 

I Will Be Complete is the best memoir I’ve read in years. It’s likely the best memoir published in years.’ Darin Strauss, author of National Book Critics Circle Award winner Half a Life and Chang and Eng.

From the bestselling author of Carter Beats the Devil and Sunnyside, a shocking, big-hearted memoir about his bizarre upbringing in California in the 1970s and how he survived it.

Glen David Gold grew up rich on the beaches of 1970s California, until his father lost a fortune and his parents divorced when he was ten.

Glen and his English mother moved to San Francisco, where she was fleeced by a series of charming con men and turned increasingly wayward. When he was twelve, she took off for New York without telling him, leaving him alone for several months. On midnight streets and at drug-fuelled parties, wise-cracking his way through an alarming adult world, Glen watched his mother’s countless, wild attempts to reinvent herself.

In this exceptional memoir, acclaimed novelist Glen David Gold captures his bizarre, lonely upbringing and how it shaped him as an adult with stunning insight and unsparing candour. Shocking, mordantly funny and achingly affecting, he tells an unforgettable story of the years he spent trying to rescue his mother – and his ultimate realisation that only by breaking free could he ever hope to be complete.’The prose is crystalline, hard as real diamonds, flashing, revealing. The story is simple, just a boy and his mother’s long disintegration, but the journey is darkly complicated, heartbreaking, beautiful as hell.’ Mark Childress, author of Crazy in Alabama.

Published 26 June | RRP $37.99

The Summer of usThe summer of us Cecilia Vinesse 

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.

Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it’s not just the two of them . . .

There’s Jonah, Aubrey’s seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there’s Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there’s no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae’s friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.

Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

Published 31 July | RRP $19.99

Click here to be in to win

Your superstar brainYour superstar brain: Unlocking the secrets of the human mind – Kaja Nordengen 

‘A brilliant book’ – Dagbladet

Why does the brain work the way it does? Can eating certain foods improve your memory? Can you activate the parts of the brain you don’t use? Can you smile yourself to happiness? What is free will, and do we really possess it?

These big questions, and many more, are investigated to uncover all the secrets of your most wondrous, mysterious and irreplaceable organ. Your brain makes you who you are – it is the root of your personality and intelligence. It learns languages, creates memories and interprets complex patterns. But it is also responsible for your bad decisions and it rewards addictive behaviours.

In Your Superstar Brain, neuroscientist Dr Kaja Nordengen describes in mesmerising detail how the brain works – both how it’s physically constructed with neurones, synapses and the cerebral cortex, but also how it functions on a more abstract level – everything from what happens when we fall in love to where we find our sense of self.

Join Dr Kaja Nordengen on her fascinating journey through the many unexplored territories of the intricate human brain, and find out why your brain is truly a superstar.

Published 12 June | RRP $34.99 

Click here to be in to win

run riotRun, riotNikesh Shukla 

From the editor of The Good Immigrant, an adrenaline-fuelled, powerful YA novel about young people taking charge of their own destiny. A novel about standing up and being counted.

Aspiring MC Taran and her twin brother Hari never wanted to move to Firestone House. But when the rent was doubled overnight and Dad’s chemo meant he couldn’t work, they had to make this tower block their home. It’s good now though; they feel part of something here.

When they start noticing boarded-up flats and glossy fliers for expensive apartments, they don’t think much of it – until Hari is caught up in a tragedy, and they are forced to go on the run.

It’s up to these teenagers to uncover the sinister truth behind what’s going on in the block, before it blows their world apart.

Published 12 June | RRP $19.99

Click here to be in to win

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Postal Address (required)

Phone (required)

Which book would you prefer to win? (required)

T&C’s apply